National Science and Technology Medals Foundation

Medal of Technology and Innovation

The recently renamed National Medal of Technology and Innovation is presented to individuals, teams, and companies for achievement in the innovation, development, commercialization, and management of technology.

Established by Congress in 1980 as part of the Stevenson-Wyler Technology Act, two companies, four teams and two individuals received the first Medals of Technology in 1985.

Currently, under the America Creating Opportunities to Meaningfully Promote Excellence in Technology, Education, and Science Act (COMPETES) H.R. 2272 signed into law August 9, 2007, the US Patent and Trademark Office at the Department of Commerce administers the National Medal of Technology and Innovation program, previously managed by the Technology Administration Department of Commerce.

More than 170 individuals, teams and companies have been recognized with a Medal of Technology and Innovation for extraordinary achievements that have shaped world cultures and economies and reflect America's true spirit of innovation.

Medal of Technology